Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Outlining Sucks but do it

Leave a comment

I mentioned in my earlier post, Organizing Your Thoughts, that outlining is sadly worth it. Yes, it takes way too much time, but it will save your writing career in the end.

Ultimately, how you outline is all up to you. I suppose if you outline like I do, you’re not really outlining at all. You’re bullet pointing and calling it outlining. . .

Either way, I’m hear to ramble about my methods, so I’ll explain how I fudge my way through a novel.

1. Make it simple

You’re not actually writing the book. You’re simply explaining the majority of things that are happening without all the magical writing mojo.

You don’t need to add much dialogue either,  so don’t waste your time with it. Be simple and don’t worry about explaining everything. If you map out too much  you’ll lose the fun of writing spontaneously.

2. No one else will ever see it

While you work on your outline, remember that no one else should ever see it. This means you can use whatever crazy lingo suits your fancy. If you can write in short hand, go for it and you’ll save time. That is unless you like me and don’t know how to translate your own short hand. :S

3. Spruce it up

You’re going to be staring at this outline for the same amount of time you’re writing your novel. Although not entirely necessary, feel free to use fun fonts and colors.

As a teenage girl, I’m an easily bored person and I like playing with fonts and sizes. If I’m staring at something for too long eventually the sight of it will make me want to throw up.

Concluding, if you want an example of my ‘outlining’ (*cough cough* bullet pointing) refer back to Organizing Your Thoughts. In the meantime, if you’re having trouble finishing a novel, take a stab at outlining. Your problem may be that you’re diving in too soon.

Slow down, and know what you’re going to say in your novel before you start spurting out words.

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

