Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

The Truth About Publishers: The One Thing You Need to Know

Leave a comment

I’m just going to admit now that I’m terrified of publishing companies.

WHY ARE THEY SO SCARY!?

I guess I came to explain exactly that, though…

If you do any research on publishing I assure you, you will have nightmares for days. And then you’ll look to Amazon, ibooks, and ebooks, and think, “That’s so much simpler, but so much less professional. What do I do?!”

Since I’m only beginning to get my work out there, I’m settling for that simpler route for the time being. The point of this blog, though, is to inform you on all the tricks of the trade I’ve learned.

That includes publishers.

Maybe I’ve just been talking to the wrong people, but every time I talk to someone about publishers, the comments are negative. Once again, this is just my opinion, but a warning can never be too bad.

1. Publishers Hide the Truth

Go to any publishing website and take a gander around. You’ll probably find a sketchy tab to submit your manuscript. You’ll find a page that gives you the history of the company. Maybe there will be a video chucked full of beautiful actors pretending they enjoyed this companies publishing process. The site may promote some of the books it has published and tell you about the authors.

Keep looking through the majority of those  sites, though, and try to find a price. If prices are listed, they’re either extremely vague or astronomically high.

The majority of the time you look at publishing sites, you won’t even find a price. You’ll find out a price when your halfway into getting your book published. That is if they even take your book for consideration.

Also, they’re going to scare you by telling you of how they rarely publish books like this, or don’t like people who didn’t do this. For example, some will even straight up deny you if you don’t have an agent.

Plus, publishing companies are known for throwing you contracts that do you little good. These contracts can tell you that your book wont be published for a few years. They can also take over the majority of the control you have of your book. Why work for years writing a book only to hand it over to a publishing company that will simply change everything?

There’s so much that publishers hide from you, that I don’t even know the half of it. And even then maybe I know the wrong half. If anyone out there has had a fantastic experience with a publishing company, I’d gladly like to hear about it. I would love getting proved wrong if it means I can stop being so terrified of publishers.

I will say, though, that I learned a lot from a site called wheatmark.com . The purpose of Wheatmark is to explain exactly what happens when you decide you want to publish. I advise reading their Author’s Guide to further understand publishing.

Hopefully taking a look at this site will enlighten you better than I can… Best of luck!

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

