Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Don’t Look Back

1 Comment

I’ve covered this topic before, but I think it’s worth revisiting.

While writing, you should:

1. Never Stop Writing to Read Your Work

The majority of writers write for their own enjoyment. When I first started writing I wrote because I felt other writers were too dumb to write the scenes I wanted to read (I was a very unsatisfied 12 year-old). At that time, I would get so excited about what I was writing that I would stop every five minutes to read back over what I’d already written. It took me a while to realize that when I did this I interrupted the flow of my writing.

My writing just became choppy.

2. Don’t Go Back To Edit or Add Something

Don’t edit while you write, it will only slow you down. No matter how aggressively you edit your work while writing, you’ll never get it perfect.. It’s safer to have the whole book written before you dive into any sort of editing.

The same is true of going back to add anything. It doesn’t matter if you’re just adding a line or adding a whole scene, don’t do it. The flow will never line up correctly so add it when you’re in your “Editing Vibe”.

Ultimately, the purpose of the actual ‘writing’ part of writing is to write. Don’t edit or add. Just spit out your story and fix how you say it later.

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

One thought on “Don’t Look Back

  1. Pingback: Diagnosing yourself as an editor – Writing Every Which Way

Leave a Reply

