Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Diagnosing Your ‘Writers Block’

Leave a comment

I hate the phrase ‘writers block’! Just something about it sounds so childish and laughable. A lull in your ability to write is not laughable!

This lull (*cough cough* stupid writers block) is usually caused by a few simple things. The most common way to get writers block is through a tragic event.

1. Tragic Event

You’ve all hit that moment in your life where you entirely forget who you are. You don’t know what you enjoy doing and you recklessly do other things.

Sure, I could go into reasons for this happening, but I imagine we can all relate without examples.

Anyway, I hit that moment a little under a year ago and was entirely incapable of writing or editing. I had no motivation.

This lull went on for five months before I realized that I needed to get my crap together and move on.

As soon as I realized I needed to move on, my life got better and I remembered that I had a whole novel sitting on my computer waiting to be published. . . Oops.

I just had to move on from the event and I was home free!

2. Boredom with your writing

This form of writers block usually appears while actually writing the first draft of your novel. In this case you might be fifty pages in, and just suddenly can’t find the motivation to write.

Maybe you’ll scrounge up some useless things to say, but in general you’re bored by your writing

In this circumstance, there are two things you can do. You can either go back to the very beginning (Check out: Mentally Creating a Story: 4 Points to Keep In Mind) and come up with some things that you’re excited to write. Or, If even this doesn’t work you might need to ditch the project.

No, this is not admitting defeat. It’s admitting that you’re not going to get anywhere unless you work on a different project.

3. Frustration

Maybe you’ve hit that point in the editing process where you’re so tired of staring at your own writing, that you just have to stop.

This is understandable. It happens.

That doesn’t mean you’re allowed to give up, though. I won’t let you!

Take some time off and just ease the project out of your mind. This way, when you pick up your work again it will feel like a fresh new novel that you’re excited to finish.

Take only a week or two off, though, so you don’t risk losing all interest in writing

Basically… you just need to keep fighting for your writing (see what I did there?). Remind yourself that you put time and effort into it and you’re an idiot if you let that go to waste.

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

