Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Should You Write Multiple Drafts?

Leave a comment

Should you write multiple drafts?

This question has many different meanings.

Multiple drafts as in completely new versions of what you wrote?

Multiple drafts as in each newly edited version of your writing?

And which form of writing should this question pertain to?

I’m seriously just as confused as you are when other sites tell me to create multiple drafts of my work. WHAT DO THEY MEAN?

I suppose I don’t really care what they actually mean because here’s my opinion on the whole idea.

It’s Up to You

I can’t necessarily tell you what works best because you have to find out for yourself. Assuming that the question means writing a completely new version of your work, then that could take a lot of time. If your writing novels you may not have the time or motivation to completely rewrite your draft. If your writing something like an article or essay then maybe you could give it a try.

Personally I don’t like the idea of writing multiple drafts. As a High School student I don’t have the time. Secondly, my writing isn’t very spontaneous. Outlines and planners keep any form of writing I do perfectly on track. Honestly, It’d be pointless for me to rewrite when I’m not going to change anything. Whatever I need to change I’ll do during editing.

Sure, multiple drafts could be alright. It allows you to see what different ways you can write your story. The process also forces you to slow down and think about the different directions your plot could go.

Truthfully, if you think a second or third draft would further improve your writing, I would never tell you not to.

To be a writer, you have to be able to make your own decisions and create your own path. No predetermined guide will bring success to your doorstep so make your own.

With that said, good luck with your writing and if you want tell me which you prefer in the comments below.

One draft or multiple?

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

