Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Experience to Write

Leave a comment

Writing is such a lonely career that us writers have begun to be stereotyped as introverts. Maybe that’s true but are we about to submit to the typecasting of the stereotype rulers?

If that made any sense to you, then I hope you’re joining me in my chant of, “Heck no!”

Great authors write from experience. That said, if we don’t go out into the world we’ll never know how to correctly shed light on it.

Usually my posts are a lot more factual and to the point. The reason for writing this one, though, is to recommend one thing. One simple little, itsy bitsy, thing.

And what is this itsy bitsy thing, you ask?

I only recommend that you explore the world.

Don’t rot away in your house. Step outside and look at the grandeur of it all.

You’re more likely to be inspired by an experience you have,than by an experience you don’t have. Seriously, there’s nothing bad about allowing yourself to live a little.

And, yes, I’m just as introverted as you. I’m seriously as pale as a ghost and it’s the middle of summer (you can see for yourself in my ‘gravatar’ picture). I’ve read so many books that I don’t know what to do with the knowledge. Also, I’m not ashamed to admit that I nearly die every time I have to do physical activity.

I’m a lazy, indoorsy person. Please, do not force me to leave my safe little hobbit hole.

Then again, please, force me to leave.

I need the experience (we all do)! I need to discover new things in the world so that I can write truthfully. I’m lying to my audience if I haven’t actually done something and I write about it.

Of course, experience in reason!

Don’t go sword fighting on a tight rope. Don’t gallivant around town with a bunch of bikers. DO NOT pick a fight with anyone! There are some things you DON’T need to experience. There are certain things you shouldn’t need to know about, either. Those are just the parts of your story that you don’t go into great detail about.

Write about what you do know, though. Go into detail about a character’s first kiss or first time losing a friend. As long as you’re writing about humans, pull up your old memories and let them inspire you as you write.

All I’m saying, is that you don’t need to let your writing keep you from adventure.

For one, I do theatre, and trust me, that’s one hell of an experience. You may not plan on being the most social person that first time you walk into an audition but by the time you leave it’s like you’re part of a cult! The people you meet will force you to explore the world, and all you have to do is agree to do so.

Don’t let your commitment to writing hold you back from living. In the end, living will give you more to write about. Plus, you’ve got time. Go into the world before it’s too late. You can write novels based on your experience when you’re old and no long have the strength to sky dive, mountain climb, or take karate lessons.

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

