Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Managing Time: Writing

2 Comments

We’ve all got busy lives; every last one of us.

Then again, it’s Summer Break, so I’ve been frequenting my couch lately. . .

I love that couch.

Anyway, managing one’s time to write is tricky.

All over the internet, writers will tell you that you should try to write everyday. Write a few pages before work or in the evening to get your mind flowing.

That’s a lot of time, though! Even when I’m in the writing zone it takes me nearly an hour to write ten pages. Most people don’t have an hour (unless you’re in high school, off for summer, and not-so secretly in love with your couch. . . hehe).

People just don’t have time like that.

There are certain things that you can’t miss: school, work, your nephews graduation party. And then there are things that you can miss but would prefer not to: a Zumba class, hanging out with friends, family time.

Where in your schedule does time for writing come in? Remember, you still have to sleep, eat, and breathe.

Not sure what to do?

Here are some ideas:

  1. Map Out Your Schedule in a Planner or Calendar.

Recently a friend of mine has inadvertently convinced me to be more organized. She has, no joke, the busiest schedule on the face of the earth yet she still makes time for enjoying life. To keep herself on track, she uses a planner.

Personally, I use a calendar to keep my mind straight but either system works. Just figure out the most effective attack plan for you (that’s what this is all about anyway).

Once you’ve decided, write out your schedule and note what days you’ll be free to write.

Also, don’t forget to add space for relaxing and spending time with family. Just because a space has opened up in your schedule doesn’t mean you need to use it for writing.

2. Write in Between the Lines

(Take a look at that crappy subject title ^. That’s the mark of someone who has no idea what to actually describe this as. That’s not important, though, the following is.)

Plenty of moments arise when you have a couple minutes to work on your writing. Say you’re waiting for a doctor’s visit, in class waiting for the rest of the class to finish a test, or you just finished eating while on your lunch break and have a few minutes.

Take any moment that you would otherwise have been bored or on your phone and use it as a writing time. It doesn’t take much to write a few paragraphs.

3. Managing All Your Hobbies

Sometimes, you  just have too many hobbies and not enough time.

When free time arises, which do you chose to do? Should you write or should you knit those scarves for the orphanage children?

The best way I’ve found to manage my hobbies is to accept the fact that I’m not going to die tomorrow (I hope).

Everyone is always in such a rush that they forget to focus on the quality of their task. Sure, I rush around, too, but I don’t let my work become shabby.

Those orphan children need those scarves! Make the scarves worth their notice.

Honestly, when it comes time to manage your hobbies, just pick one. Work on something for a while and when you’re bored, go on to a different task.

For me the perfect time to stop writing is when my eyes start blurring and my thoughts aren’t making sense anymore.

Knowing when you’ve had too much of one activity is great for someone with too many hobbies. Just look for the signs of your work becoming shabby and call it a night. Don’t force yourself to continue working if you’re only going to have to redo the bad work.

4. Take a Day Off

No I’m not advising you to play hooky. I’m just saying that sometimes you need to take a mental sick day.

To much stress can fry your brain and put you in a bad mood. If you feel like you’re about to explode take a day off work, skip Zumba, or pretend you’re sick for you nephew’s graduation party (just get him a card and he’ll never notice you weren’t there).

Use that day off to relax and do some things that you enjoy, like, writing and knitting scarves for orphans.

Best of luck managing your time!

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

2 thoughts on “Managing Time: Writing

  1. I’ve been a stay at home mom for the last few months, and I’m finding that there are days when it’s actually harder for me to find the time to write now, than it was when I was working. Thanks, I really enjoyed this post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

