Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Notifications: Not Just for Technology

Leave a comment

Today I attended a Comic-Con and discovered something odd. . . Authors were selling their own novels there!

At first I was like, “Oh my gosh, really? No one’s going to buy your book” (can you hear the teenage angst?).

And then I was like, “OH MY GOSH! They’re genius’!”

Everyone knows that it takes some effort to get noticed in this ginormous world of ours. If you’re a writer, you’ll know it’s even harder to get noticed in the publishing universe.

So, how exactly should one get noticed if they don’t have an agent setting up their every move?

Here’s what you can do:

1. Get Out Into the World

I know, the outdoors are scary. You might just need to face your fears, though. Leave your safe little hovel and arrange yourself some appearances in public. People might not have any idea who you are but that’s exactly the point of going. Maybe you’ll just sit in a booth alone all day, but people will notice you.

Walking away from that convention today, I didn’t give a single hoot about those authors. It wasn’t until I began to let me mind wander that I realized I wanted to know the titles of those books.

I still want to know the titles of those books!

But anyway, those authors got me to notice them! They put themselves out into the world and I saw them. Now they have a person interested in their writing. Who’da’thunk?

2. Libraries

Local libraries love hearing about local authors. If you just leave your house, drive a bit to the nearest library, and hand a librarian a copy of your book, they’ll most likely put it on the shelves. Some Libraries may even be nice enough to promote your book a bit. You are a local author, so, hopefully they’ll care about the community enough to help you along.

3. Social Media

I hate social media, but I love it. It’s the quickest way to show everyone you know that you’re a writer. For example, I’ve posted stuff on Facebook and Instagram to get my blog out there to my friends. Sure, they don’t always check it, but at least they’re aware of it.

Plus, social media can actually spread your message a long way. If you ask, people will share your posts with their friends and those friends can share it, and on and on it goes until people all over the country know about you.

All it takes is a couple seconds to post a message, so don’t tell me you don’t want to.

DO IT!

4. Other Writers

Not everyone is out to sabotage your career.

Yes, some people are. . . but not everyone!

Other writers are great for connections. If you talk with other writers then you may be able to score a favor to help you along. Keep talking and you may have a published work in a year!

Anyone that works in writing or English knows the struggle of getting noticed. A majority of the time, those exact people will help you. Maybe it’s from pity; maybe it’s friendship; maybe you don’t care why. Either way, talk to people that share your same interests. They will help you get somewhere, I promise.

5. Talk to People in General

I actually hate social interactions. I hate having to put the time into being with my friends. Can’t they just be satisfied with sitting here watching me write? Why can’t they be satisfied with that? Seriously!

Sadly that won’t satisfy the majority of people, so you’ll need to actually go and talk to other human beings.

Talking to people is great for getting your name out there. If you make friends in the writing world, you’ll make connections. The more people you talk to, the more people will notice you.

Simply telling someone you’re a writer will spark their interest. They’ll hopefully ask about what you’ve wrote and maybe they’ll tell you that they’ll be able to help you with a connection.

ACCEPT THE CONNECTION!

Honestly just talking to people is the easiest way to get noticed, so do it!

6. Start a Website

Why do you think I have a blog? Trust me, it’s not to keep myself busy. Part of the point of this blog is to get myself noticed as an author.

Yes, I ramble a lot, but you notice my rambling! Hopefully it entertains you. . . 🙂

You all know that I’m an author and you’re waiting (I hope) for my novel to FINALLY be published. You notice me.

Honestly, I probably didn’t have to write a post about getting noticed. I bet you can think of others ways, so go ahead and tell me in the comments! I’m always glad to hear from you!

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

