Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Loving Your Novel

Leave a comment

Hopefully if you’re writing a novel, you’re writing it because you want to. No one should be forcing you to write this book. You’re going to be spending a year or more of your life on it so you must make the most of your time.

Now, I can’t teach you how to love something, but I can show you the way to enjoying the process.

Your Characters Are Your Friends

I’ve read books before where the main character makes me want to gouge my eyes out. Certain people, and characters, just don’t agree with me. Maybe that character, though, was the authors pride and joy. If that author truly enjoyed creating the character then I can’t argue with that.

Yet, if the author hated the character just as much as I did then it wasn’t worth their time.

One should even love their villains! It’s kind of fun to be diabolical.

Plus, you can go a little crazy designing the quirks and deep down feelings of your villains. There’s so much depth you can add to your characters.

Just remember that you need to enjoy their existence.

Your Events

Write scenes that you enjoy writing.

For some reason, I love writing high tension scenes where my characters are vocally fighting. These scenes are easy to write because when someone’s angry they’re spitting out words before they entirely think them through, and that’s sort of how I write.

I imagine you enjoy writing a different kind of scene, but it doesn’t matter what you’re writing just enjoy as much of it as you can.

Write About Your Philosophies

It doesn’t make sense to write a whole book based on something you don’t believe in. Write truthfully to what you think people should be like.

Say someone’s a mass murderer and he excuses himself by saying he was raised that way. You believe that not everyone has to follow the way they were raised when it comes to things like that. If this is the case, don’t go making the murderer some simple person who doesn’t need to be dealt with severely.

Stay true to your beliefs. A novel is about what you want to say. Don’t let anyone else tell you what to write.

There isn’t much else to say when it comes to enjoying your writing. We are writers because at some point in our lives we decided writing was our one true love. Don’t let money, your friends, or a reputation make you a star crossed lover. 😉

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

