Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

I am One With the Characters

4 Comments

Maybe I’m just crazy, but I swear this is a real thing!

Have you ever been rolling along, writing your story like a normal writer and then something weird happens. Maybe one of your characters is really confused, sad, or dizzy, and suddenly you’re confused, sad or dizzy. It’s like you BECOME your character.

Yes, I told you before that you need to get into character to correctly express their existence, and you might not understand what I’m talking about, but I have to tell you how amazing this is.

I’ve notice this anomaly happens most often when I’m writing about my main character’s point of view (to learn more about my complicated point of view, refer back to “I am” or “Gertrude is” : Point of View). I suppose this is due to me basing my main character off myself like the savage I am. Or, maybe it’s just because I get more into writing about this character.

EIther way, it happens all the time to me, and it screws with my head. A week ago I was writing a scene where my one character was really mentally drained. He couldn’t focus on anything very hard and he could barely understand the things his friends were telling him.

I stood up to go do something in the middle of writing this scene and, I KID YOU NOT, I was wobbling on my feet. It was like I was walking for the first time.  Sure, this might have been due to my close proximity to my laptop screen and lack of movement in hours. . . but it was so weird.

Also, I’ve written scenes before where my characters are super sad and moping about. Basically the whole first half of the story has to be depressing and stressful.

Now, I’m a pretty easy going person. Of course I get stressed, but I try not to let things get to me.

Before I wrote this part of the book, I was perfectly fine, then I was trudging along through it and I suddenly was just so sad! I wasn’t even acting like myself.

Has any one else every experienced this? I think it’s so cool!

I’ve become one with the characters. . . hehehehehe!

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

4 thoughts on “I am One With the Characters

  1. I’ve done this… just last week, in fact. My main character was really upset about something her boyfriend did. My husband came through and asked me how I was doing. I felt angry at him for a minute, like he had done something completely unforgivable (which, of course, he had not). Thankfully, it only lasted a few seconds and he has learned to ignore and accept this completely normal reaction for what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the emotion while I’m writing it, but I don’t think I’ve left the page with it, if that makes any sense. I do, however, sometimes get so into my character’s head that, even when I’m writing about him/her in third person, I’ll start writing “I” because I forget that I’m not the character. (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

