Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

My Dear Great Aunt Sandy

2 Comments

Who exactly are you writing for? When an idea pops into your head, who do you most anxiously await a reaction from?

Stephen King once wrote in his memoire: On Writing that he believes everyone writes for someone. He gave the example that he writes for his wife. When a particular scene comes to mind, he immediately wonders how his wife would feel about the part.

Personally, I’m not sure who I write for. Sometimes I think I write for myself. I started writing to entertain myself and nothing has changed.

Other times, I wonder if that’s still true.

Now I might write for one of my very good friends (I mentioned her before in Editing Your Work Like a Pro: 7 Steps). She’s one of my amazing novel editors and she really tells it how it is. If she thinks something needs to be changed, she’ll tell me. Thankfully, she and I are usually on the same wavelength so we don’t have too many problems, but it’s still nice to have someone who can be tough on my work.

Writing for her is sort of like writing for a much more honest version of myself.

Maybe we can’t pick who we actually find ourselves writing for, but if we can, we need to choose wisely. Don’t write for someone who doesn’t agree with your philosophies. Choose someone you look up to; someone who will be honest with you about your writing.

Maybe you’ll write for your significant other, your mom, or your best friend. Maybe you’ll never actually take note of who you’re writing for. If you do find yourself wanting to choose someone to write for, then don’t be stupid. Pick someone who will help your writing improve.

Tell me what you think about writing for someone. Who do you write for?

Sorry this is such a dramatic post! I was feeling it 😀

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

2 thoughts on “My Dear Great Aunt Sandy

  1. Thanks for the thought-provoking post. I wish I had someone I wrote for but, alas, I guess it’s just me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

