Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Inspirational Movement of Furniture

Leave a comment

Isn’t there some Chinese or Japanese belief that by moving your furniture you can find a better spiritual mood for your room? I feel like that’s very true in all forms.

One of my brothers recently went off to college so now our whole family is a little confused on how to deal with his absence. My mom mainly is just trying to keep herself busy so she doesn’t cry. My oldest brother keeps himself informed by texting the betrayer. Dad is existing. And I’m not entirely sure how I feel.

I do know, though, that the rearrangement of my furniture greatly improved my mood.

My oldest brother was inspired to rearrange his room (I presume it’s a result of our sibling going to college) and he suddenly felt the need to get rid of his futon.

Now, we live in a double wide trailer that we built a basement for. Our house is pretty decent size, but our rooms aren’t massive.

Nonetheless, when this futon was offered to me I saw many possibilities of how this futon could help my existence.

My mother then came on down the hall to discover my oldest brother’s room torn apart and the two of us standing in my room appraising how this rather large futon would squeeze in. She immediately told us she was staying out of this process and left us to struggle with our task.

After my lack of strength failed my poor oldest brother multiple times, we managed to get the object of interest into my room (my mom’s motherly ways eventually forced her to assist us). And now my room is a little tight and my closet now has an overflowing bookshelf in it, but I feel better.

I don’t like things being the same for too long. I have to rearrange my room every couple months or else I’ll go crazy.

My brother’s leaving, though, I think affected me in an alternate way. He left, so obviously my subconscious felt nothing could remain the same. Our family had to get along better and bond. My room had to change. The eldest brother’s room had to change. The living room had to change.

Maybe we all had to make sure that when he returned, things wouldn’t be exactly as he left them. We must prove to him that we were able to move on from his abandonment and he shouldn’t feel bad.

We’re just fine.

Yeah… the Uram’s will make it through the years ahead.

Back to rearranging furniture, though.

Even as a kid I loved when I got to change my room up. Suddenly the place was a million times more fascinating and I could spend hours sitting on my floor without boring.

Nothing has changed.

Now that my room is different I’m suddenly inspired to write more. My former living state had grown stale and so had my writing. This change has brightened my mind and given me a reason to sit in my room and write for hours.

My word of advice for today, then, is that if things start to get dull in your life, change them. You don’t have to just rearrange your furniture either. Start meditating. Try yoga. Create a new writing routine. Freshen up your life and you’ll work more efficiently.

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

