Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Yes, I’m Still Writing Every Which Day (An Update)

Leave a comment

Well, I’m not necessarily “writing”, but I’m editing which is a lot more work personally.

I’ve grown to prefer editing over writing, though. I guess when you spend a year of your life editing your pride and joy, there’s no other option than to enjoy the process. You’re sanity will thank you later.

I’m sure in a week when I dive into the finished first draft of the sequel to The Little Paragons, my mind will change, but for now it’s set.

Speaking of the finished draft, I thought I might give a brief update on my writing endeavors to those of you who care.

If you read the majority of my posts, you’ll know that I’ve been trying to get my novel, The Little Paragons, edited so that I can self publish to various sites. As of right now, I’m at a lull because I’m waiting for two of my friends to go through it and then give me critiques back. While they do that, though, I’m cleaning up the plot a bit and giving it one more very personal run-through. Yes, when they give me critiques, they wont have worked on the exact same copy, but by this point, I’m running out of major things to edit.

Once they get their copies back to me, I’ll spot check my own copy with the corrections they made. Then I’ll do one more studious run-through just to make sure everything flows. To top it all off, I’ll send the file to my kindle and read it as if it were it’s own already published book. This read-through will just finalize mentally for me that once this is published, there’s no editing. I can’t fix anything. It’s done (more or less).

Then I’ll publish it and promote the crap out of it!!!

Meanwhile, work on the sequel to The Little Paragons is at an important stall. Last Friday I finished the first draft and, let me tell you, it’s crap!!!! I say that proudly, too.

As of right now, I’m acting on step one of my guide to editing (Editing Your Work Like a Pro: 7 Steps).

I’m working on The little Paragons, but otherwise, the sequel is just chilling on my flash drive so that I can forget what it’s about (as step one prompts). I’m just trying my best not to think about it so that I can read-through it Friday with fresh eyes. I already basically have a list of things to add, so I know I’m going to have a lot of notes to make.

Ultimately, I’m juggling the two novels right now. I’m hoping to have The Little Paragons published by November, but all I can do is cross my fingers. I still need to talk to my brother about cover art so there’s still plenty to do.

I’m sure with school starting soon I’ll be busy for the next couple weeks. Plus, I’ve still got those haikus to keep writing. I don’t understand why so many people like those… Not that I’m complaining, but I just expected them to be something silly to keep my busy. Now they’re probably the most popular thing on my blog! Thanks for that, fellow bloggers 🙂

Happy Tuesday!

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

