Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Prologues: Yah or Nah?

2 Comments

In recent years, the common consensus is that prologues can be a major no no. They’re just annoying, like a car in front of you that’s going fifteen miles below the speed limit.

Those of you who are authors, though, know that it’s one of many crucial factor one has to handle while developing a novel.

So…. Should you, an author, include one in your book?

Hell Yeah I NEED a Prologue!

Authors use prologues to explain something that happened prior to their story’s time.

Perhaps you need to express a crime that was committed earlier that your characters must solve. Maybe you need to explain the creation of man itself.

Either way, the only purpose of a prologue is to explain a former event and add some sort of complexity to your novel.

No Way! I’m Not Using a Prologue!

Prologues can be frustrating when you simply want to dive into a new book. They can often confuse the audience and discourage readers.

If you own any sort of Kindle of Nook, you’ll know that most e-books have a free sample. If you stumble across a possibly enticing novel and the prologue is half your sample, chances are you’re going to turn it down.

Hence, if you’re going to write a prologue, make it worth reading. Use it to make your books more thought provoking and interesting, but don’t let it go on longer than necessary. Put yourself in the readers shoes when your read your novel.

(Yes, it has been a while since I last wrote a long post. No, I am not dead. No, I am not lying. Yes, I feel dead. I’ve been swamped with school work, being in a play, and dealing with teenage drama *Flips hair dramatically*. Things seem to be cooling down at school, though, so I’ll try to be a bit more involved here. If this post is rushed or doesn’t make any sense, I’m sorry. I wrote it during auditions for yet ANOTHER play and honestly, your lucky I’m posting it. Thank you, to those of you who have kept up with my blog while I’ve just been posting my haikus. 🙂 Love you all!)

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

2 thoughts on “Prologues: Yah or Nah?

  1. I think it really depends on the prologue–I don’t mind it so much for mysteries or romances, but if I’m reading some kind of dystopian YA fiction, I would rather the author weave the backstory into the actual story, and just get right to the story from the first page. I notice in my own writing, that sometimes I spend so much time “setting the story up,” that I kind of forget to get to the story. And so a lot of that prologue-y stuff I just wind up cutting… and figuring out a more artful way to include that info in the actual text. How about you?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

