Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Branching Out

6 Comments

It’s been ages since I wrote a post like this, but I have an excuse: I’ve been branching out.

Since my junior year of high school has begun, I’ve been thrown into all sorts of new activities. I created my schedule so that the majority of my day is extra curricular based.

I believe that to be a writer one has to be very well rounded.

Take my typical day as an example:

I get to school early and immediately head to the TV studio to be on, and help create, the daily announcements for the whole school.

Then I head to first and second period physics (dulllll).

Next is AP American History, third period (An amazing class taught by an… interesting man I’ve known since 7th grade).

Fourth period, I’m back to the studio for my TV production class.

Fifth period is lunch and Sociology (I LOVE this class. It’s taught by probably one of my favorite teachers ever and I’m learning a crap load about society and culture. REALLY helpful for writing).

Sixth period I have journalism where we work on creating the school’s newspaper (Skyliner).

Seventh period is Pre-calc.

Eighth period is AP English (Love this teacher, too).

Finally I’m freed from my classes and head over to musical or play practice (directed by my American History teacher).

At last, I get home usually by 6:30 at the latest and work on homework a few hours before checking my two blogs and relaxing a bit.

Every single part of my day, I’m learning and creating something new. Just this weekend I’ve come up with countless podcast, blog, and story ideas.

This diversity in my schedule surely makes it hard to know what I want to do with my future, but I’m not going to complain.

Referring back to my original point, all writers need to have at least a  grasp on other forms of creative output. I find it’s especially easy to write fiction when I know what it’s like to be in a lot of people’s shoes.

Also, no matter your age, I would recommend looking into acting.

I’ve only been acting for five years, but in that time I’ve played countless roles and met some amazing people.

In the play I’m in now, for example, I have to be a little girl in one scene, and a marriage counselor looking for love in another.

When I’m trying to figure out what kind of character I am, I have to entirely diagnose that persons life as authors must also do.

Any sort of branching out is good! I even can apply the things I learn from my TV production classes to my characters!

Also, study sociology and psychology if you can get the chance. If you can understand the human mind, you can write about the human mind.

Be well rounded!

Tell me in the comments what you think about this idea. How do you branch out?

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

6 thoughts on “Branching Out

  1. How fun that you built such a diverse schedule for yourself but, boy, you sure must be busy! I loved sociology, too–it gave me so much insight into how things work, especially bureaucracies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes, I’m swamped with activities every second. There’s no time to breathe! And I’m glad to hear that you also like sociology! I’m fascinated by the development of norms, especially in children. We haven’t gotten too far, but from what I’ve learned so far, I’m excited to hear more. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t remember where, but I once read that many writer’s have held varying jobs in their lifetime. While most people will stay at least in the same field for decades at a time, writer’s will have been employed in numerous different fields in the same time span (obviously, not all writer’s, but according to the article it’s quite a bit). It gives them more detail into the nitty gritty of other lives and experiences. I never thought about it before, but when I read that I realized that that’s one of the good things about all the different places and fields I’ve worked in. For instance, I’ve worked in an outdoor sports store, a female accessories store, an accounting firm, a law firm, a hospital, an advertising agency, and a life insurance company. It makes it easy for me to have my characters refer to realistic scenarios in any of these ares, without having to do too much fact checking… and if I can’t remember or am unsure, I always know someone I can call to ask. Also, my mom was BIG believer in being well-rounded. My dad used to be worried that she was screwing us up… it wasn’t unusual for us to muck out stalls at the barn during the day then go to the ballet or opera at night. We had to learn at least one musical instrument and play at least one sport. She also took us backpacking so we would be comfortable in nature and learn to take care of ourselves in the woods. Her thinking was that we should be just as comfortable in an upscale restaurant as we might be setting up a tent.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s really a genius idea of your moms! I’ve always wished I could be better with animals or sports but my siblings and I were gifted with more “artsy” talents like acting, writing, and performing. I whole heartedly agree with the idea of many jobs helping writers (as I mentioned with my schedule and acting). If you ever remember the title of that article, feel free to tell me because I’d love to check it out! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: All writing is good writing | Writing Every Which Way

Leave a Reply

