Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

All writing is good writing

2 Comments

As my juices have begun flowing again, I’ve begun to realize how vital practice is. I used to play the flute (hated it) and I had little to no dedication to ever practicing. I remember in elementary school I used to feel so guilty about not practicing, and the older I got, the more I realized that I was right to feel guilty. It was because the other kids practiced for hours that they were so much better than me.

Last year, I went through a rough time finding the motivation to write. It doesn’t help either that I was in the process of editing my novel The Little Paragons, so It didn’t occur to me that I hadn’t actually written anything in months.

Now that I have this blog and another more creative one (if you can find it, follow it, but it’s going to be difficult to identify as mine 😉  ) I’ve realized how my writing grows with each day.

My other blog is a fictional blog so every post is a part of a story. Working on that blog is very different than what I’m used to because things can be published to the world in mere minutes and mistakes are painfully obvious to others. With pressure like that, I constantly need to be on my A game.

As I mentioned in Branching Out, having many creative outputs has given me plenty of experience and practice lately. No matter what activity I choose to take part in, it’s helping further my skill… that is if I actually take part in those activities.

It’s REALLL difficult right now because Reign and TVD were just updated on Netflix and I… I can’t resist the need to BINGE! UGHHHHHHHH must… binge…

Anyway… I don’t know what I was saying anymore.

I guess, to just sum this all up I’ll say that practicing may be frustrating. Once you’re better at something, though, you’ll enjoy practicing… unless you’re a nine year old playing the flute…

#foodforthought

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

2 thoughts on “All writing is good writing

  1. This is always a good thing for me to remind myself. I get stuck in the perfectionist trap so easily, and then I can get into a funk where I’m too tired to write (which really means I’m too tired to feel confidant that what I write will be good). But in reality, even bad writing, once I sit down and do it, energizes me and helps me get into the habit of practicing consistently. Good on you for continuing to practice and put your work out there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

