Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Just testing the waters

2 Comments

SO! Many of you know that I’m the author of The Little Paragons but many of you have never even read some of my writing.

Perhaps this isn’t the best example of my abilities, but I’ve started a new project just for fun and I thought I might share the first page and a half! Don’t judge too harshly, though, it’s literally the roughest copy I could have produced, but it’s at least something fun to read and write.

Check it out and feel free to leave some comments!

Happy Tuesday and happy blogging!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I won’t bore you with the tale of how my life changed. It’s a little depressing if you catch my drift.

Oh my gosh… I just made a pun about how my life turned to literal horse dung.

Drift. Sea. Ocean.

I’m going to hell.

But anyway, I’ll just sort of sum things up for you.

I’m sixteen, going on seventeen (yes I know about the song). What do I decide to do for my 17th birthday? Go for a boat ride. We live in Maryland, the Ocean City part. Yeah, it’s a fun area, but I could do without the tourists. None the less, I decided to take a couple friends out on a boat. My one friend, TJ managed to convince our captain that he wasn’t necessary. All it took was fifty dollars, a flash of a boating license, and a reassuring nod to get six highly irresponsible teenagers on the open seas without a captain…

Any who, we’re floating along, having a jolly old time when it starts to rain. Now listen here, we’re not stupid. We’re irresponsible, but not stupid.

When it starts raining and we see lightning in the distance we decide to head back. We had strayed a good distance from shore and it was getting dark, but TJ has a boating license, we’re good, right?

Wrong!

TJ is a horrible boater!

We didn’t know that at the time of course, though. So he started driving us back to “shore” and we keep partying. I must add that our “partying” consists of a dozen Capri Suns and Battleship… Once again, we’re irresponsible, but we’re not stupid enough to drink or do that weed stuff.

So we were floating along, enjoying the breeze coming off the water. I can smell the storm beginning to heat up, but I’m not worried. A flash of lightning lit up the sky to my left, but I just thought of it as fireworks. Fireworks for my birthday!

I did begin to notice, though, that TJ was looking a little pale. He was tapping what looked to me like a compass, but it didn’t seem to be doing what he wants.

It’s no biggie, right?

Wrong!

It’s when we least expect it that the sea begins to churn. A wave threw me against the deck and I nearly tumble free. My friend Steph actually did tumble out of the boat. We tried to find her, but we couldn’t see. It was too dark.

The boat kept lurching every which way. It was like a giant toddler had our little boat in their hands and was throwing it back and forth. Back and forth.

I’m gripping the sides with all my might but my hands are slippery.

There it is.

Big Bertha.

I don’t think it had an actual name, but a wave that size surely needed one. Big Bertha just seemed fitting. And I’m telling you, this thing was massive. It was about the size of an apartment building and it was about to crush our little boat.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There you have it! I hope you’ve enjoyed this snippet! Thanks for reading 🙂

 

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

2 thoughts on “Just testing the waters

  1. AHHHHH YOU HAVE IMPROVED SO MUCH
    I LOVE THIS
    *SQUEEEE*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

