Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

The Writer Saga

8 Comments

You know how in High School they force you to read things and then over analyze the crap out of it? Well I do that when I read books. Not in a deep symbolic way, though. I do it in a crazy writer way. Usually I’m just looking for patterns in the works of authors.

I love studying simple books written purely for the authors pleasure most of all. More often than not, they follow a pattern.

Recently I was reading this book that was being advertised on (of ALL the places) Facebook. I was bored, the book was free, I bought the book.

So I start reading the book and I start realizing some crazy things:

  1. This book follows a trend that many books are known for.
  2. This trend is always very similar to The Twilight Saga.

All of the young authors these days I think were once Twi-Hards… Not all of them, but they’ve at least read the book. I always say that authors learn how to write through imitation so I find the fact that many authors imitate Twilight HILARIOUS.

Sooooooooo… Here’s the list of connections I’ve found not only with other books, but with Twilight.

  1. Starts on the first day of school.
  2. Main character is new to the school and begins their journey in the Guidance Office.
    1. Honestly, where else would you want to begin a novel???
  3. Mommy’s an artist.
  4. Someone ALWAYS has “mousy” brown hair.
    1. Will someone please explain to me what that means? I’m seriously lost. Is it like… mouse color? Or is it symbolic of something else??
  5. Main character is a tad snarky.
  6. Main character is hella chill with the impossible things happening to them.
    1. “I have super powers? Cool! Let’s go save the world.”
  7. The sportsy athletic guy likes the main character. He’s always kind of goofy and sad because he knows the odds aren’t in his favor.
  8. There’s often a wise/fun teacher willing to show his students the ropes.
  9. The main character’s best friend is the first person they meet.
    1. I wish this happened in real life…
  10. Someone has green eyes.
    1. For one, no one actually has green eyes. People can have an emerald color but it’s super rare. I can’t say I’m not guilty of giving my characters green eyes, though.. I just point out the flaws, I don’t fix them.
  11. There’s always a REALLY hot guy with dark shaggy hair.
    1. Once again, I am no exception. Come on, my main character Gabe is the spitting image of this novel stereotype.
  12. Immediate friendships/enemies are formed.
    1. Come on, give me a couple pages before I have to decide that this character is evil. I get it, they’re pretty and dating the guy you like, but that doesn’t make them your enemy right off the bat.
  13. LOVE TRIANGLES. Enough said.
  14. Hot shaggy haired guy likes the main character even though she’s not as beautiful as her competition.
  15. Lots of attention to “girly” details.
    1. By this I mean that attention is paid to someone’s hair, they’re clothing, etc,.

I’m sure I could keep going, but I think you get my jist! Oh, and don’t forget that when I make this list, it’s only a random musing. I know I fall prey to these stereotypes sometimes too so perhaps I’m a hypocrite ;).

Give me some feedback on some other stereotypes you’ve found in writing. I’d love to discuss this topic more with some of you!

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

8 thoughts on “The Writer Saga

  1. MOUSY BROWN HAIR.
    *hem i do this :D*
    I think it’s like mouse-brown and it kind of has connotations of being timid? that’s what I think of every time…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. *here I will look into a mirror and describe myself before focusing my attention on a small imperfection in the mirror that seems bigger than it is*

    *here’s a mantle. The objects on it and how they’re related also describes my marriage*

    *wow–have we ever considered how X nature is when we turn off Y technology!*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mousy to me is kind of like…bleh. Dull, overlookable. I never thought about my writing being an imitation of what I grew up reading but you are SO right! I shall attempt to not fall into the twilight trap! Number 6 is hilarious! And I have to admit, I’m also guilty of number 13. I try REALLY hard, but two boys is just so much more fun to write than one. In my current project I have a sort of, kind of love triangle, but also not really? I’d love to hear your thoughts on it!

    I love the idea/speculation behind this post! And I definitely see these trends. The only thing I would say is that Twilight is definitely not the first offender of these overused YA habits, it’s just the biggest of our generation. As the next famous authors we must vow to break ALL stereotypes (amendment one: not including love triangles) and be both successful and original.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

