Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

This could be worse…

Leave a comment

Opening Twilight for the first time in probably four years was like stepping back in time. Immediately I questioned what the hell I was doing, but I still sat down, holding the cracked and fragile cover in my hands, and began to read.

Honesty time: I’ve probably read the entire series about five times.

Don’t give me that look!

The books and movies came out during a time when I could have cared less for how bad the writing is. All I cared about was that Edward was super sexy and he really needed to keep that pesky Jacob away.

But now as I read it as a published author and blogger, it’s strange. I’m still only seventeen so I still like the romance and can related to Bella, but the writing itself turns me off. I’m not saying I know what I’m doing when it comes to writing. I can be a massive idiot about the things I type. I’m just saying that it’s difficult to read a poorly written novel after learning so much about writing myself. And don’t get me wrong, Twilight has it’s good moments! It’s really not as horrible as people like to make it, but there are some small things.

I’m not going to bore everyone with ponderings about ifs-ands-and-buts, but here are just two things I noticed that bug me.

  1. Adverbs. If you’ve read Stephen Kings Memoir on writing then you know to stay far3871433318_3ce9515bb5_b.jpg far away from adverbs. They sound cheesy and when you do look back on them, they mess with the flow. Stephanie Meyers (In the first 100 pages of Twilight at least because that’s the further I got since last night) is a huge culprit of this. I can’t say I blame her, though. I did the same thing when I began writing and if you read anything else of hers she’s actually better! So don’t judge her entirely, just the first book.
  2. First person point-of-view. I love first person perspective.  My own novel is written
    Title Page 12-13-15

    My Novel

    in first person and it has never bugged me. I find it easier to tie in humor with it and it’s flows easier for me. In Meyers situation, though, it’s a tad strange. She doesn’t use it to it’s full potential, ESPECIALLY when it comes to humor. For example, if you look close enough, Bella’s character is actually supposed to be really sarcastic and funny, but it’s not as prominent as it could have been had she used all the benefits of first person POV.

Enough nerdy musing, though.

So far, rereading Twilight has surprised me. I’m no longer as enthralled as I know I once was, but I’m still pulled in. I enjoy the wit of Bella still and I’ve discovered that part of me is rushing to get to my favorite parts. Then again, I know if I skip around I’ll not remember enough to understand what’s happening during my favorite spots.

Also, being a writer has ruined me. I think I’m an adverb Nazi…

Now that I’ve got that out in the open, let me leave you here to ponder the things I’ve discovered. I’m hoping to chug out at least 100 or 200 pages again tonight so I’ll post again when I get further into the thick of the story.

Until then, I’d love to hear of other people rereading novels as well right now. Or, if you’re feeling risky reread Twilight and tell me what you think!

*Confused why I’m reading Twilight? Click here*

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

