Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

I survived!

Leave a comment

So here are my final thoughts on rereading Twilight nearly five years later:

  1. It’s not nearly as bad as my snobby 12 year-old-self liked to think. It was around that time that I started trying to write my own things. Back then someone expressed their opinion that the novels were bad and I listened to them. Excuse me for being young and impressionable.
  2. I’m not very patient. Knowing the plot, I found myself wanting to skip to my favorite parts. I even wanted to skip the ending entirely because I remembered it frustrating me…
  3. I became a little depressed. I don’t remember feeling quite so depressed when I read it the first time. Probably because I didn’t know what was to come and I didn’t know I was going to be made very sad and frustrated when I did get to those parts.
  4. It actually inspired me to write and work on my own novel. I didn’t expect this because usually when I start a book I don’t put it down until I finish. In this case though I was satisfied with reading a couple chapters and then editing for a couple hours before returning. In general, I didn’t feel as rushed to finish it and knew I could return to editing at any time.

Oh, and I know these posts aren’t really supposed to be “book reviews” but I just want to remark on one thing: The endings of these books suck. The first one does at least. I mean the whole novel is happy go lucky until this stupid baseball game. Then, suddenly the villain is introduced and it’s a mad chase. I mean, she could have at least introduced the villain sooner…

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the novel for the sixth time. But I wouldn’t use it to base my own novel on (as many new writers do). If simple things were changed these books could be rocking! They’re fun to read, but they could be so much more.

I’m interested to read some of Meyers newer stuff now, though. I’m sure just like all writers, that with each novel she writes, she’s better. It’s on my to do list to read more from her.

Anywho, now that Twilight is done I’m going to start on the other three books. I’ve got 13 days left for my editing deadline, though, so that comes first.

Posts about the next three books won’t be nearly as frequent as they were for Twilight. I don’t want to bore anyone to death with love triangle drama, so perhaps I’ll work on some poems to stay active.

Until then,

Happy Thursday!

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

