Writing Every Which Way

Novels, poems, and writing tips

Updates and tears

Leave a comment

I… kind of… survived rereading all four Twilight books. By “kind of” I’m referring to the fact that I could only bring myself to skim the ending of book three and all of book four. I

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

mean, once Edward spills the beans to Jacob about getting hitched, there excitement scale sort of drops below the freezing line…

I’m not saying that the last book doesn’t have its moment in the beginning, but personally I haven’t been able to forge through that book even a second time. I’m not even sure how I managed to do it the first time.

At no point is it necessarily boring, but my teenage self is just less amused by a steady marriage and a kid. Call me crazy. I won’t disagree.

But anyway, after rereading most of The Twilight Saga in about a week, I discovered a few things about myself:

  1. My dedication to young adult romance is frightening. Like I know how the book ends, why is part of me STILL rooting for Jacob?
  2. These books mess with my head. This has happened before. Every time I read these books they get into my head and suddenly I’m living in a world of the supernatural and I’m comparing my family and friends to the characters. IT’S NOT NORMAL.
  3. Reading them a sixth time has led me to appreciate my own writing. Those books are massive. I mean you could kill someone with my hardback copy of Breaking Dawn. Stephanie put years of work into those and even if they could have been SO much better, she was dedicated. Every writer needs to have that kind of dedication. If you don’t spend at least one summer hiding in your room writing, then it’s hard to imagine you’re getting anything done. 😉
  4. I can grudgingly see where Fifty Shades of Grey came from. One of the things I respect most about Meyers is that she isn’t one of those authors obsessed with sex. She skips sex scenes all together, sparing us the details. I’m sure some people think 16389173506_4bf3d6cc1c_bthat’s a tragedy (*cough cough* Fifty Shades) but I like it. I don’t need to read that kind of crap, I don’t want to read that, and it frightens for that there are people out there who are addicted to reading that. This is a judge free zone, but I’m just expressing my own terrified teenage opinion.
  5. I really want to write a spoof of those entire novels. They’re SO CLOSE to being hilarious! Every scene with Emmet is super funny, but if we could enhance that humor over the entire novel, it could be great. I probably will never write that spoof but as a writer it’s fun to dream.

Welp, now that Twilights over with I think I might move on to rereading Harry Potter. This series may take me a tad longer, but don’t fret, I’ll give you updates as often as possible.

Speaking of updates: I’m ahead of schedule and The Little Paragons is about to go into Stage Two of editing. I’m not entirely sure how long that will take but I’ll keep every one posted. Until then, you have the title reveal and the new cover reveals to look forward to. You also have plenty of time to reread or finally read The Little Paragons. I’m always excited to hear what you think.

Happy blogging!

**Confused on why I was rereading Twilight? Click here**

Author: Madi Uram

I'm just another young writer hoping to get noticed in the world of publication. The majority of my time is put into writing novels, but I'm no stranger to journalism, playwriting, and critical essay's, too. I'm also the author of "The Little Paragons" which can be found on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

